Jens Ocksen is the winner of Ryszard Kapuściński Award of Wielkopolska Region

09 January 2017

Jens Ocksen, President of the Management Board of Volkswagen Poznań became the first foreign winner in the history of the Ryszard Kapuściński Award of Wielkopolska Region. This distinction is awarded each year by the Marshall of Wielkopolskie Province for good deeds and actions for the society, as well as for promoting universal and timeless values.

The Ryszard Kapuściński Award has been awarded for 11 years by the Marshall of Wielkopolskie Province to outstanding public personalities, for good deeds, proactive actions to the benefit of the society and timeless values. The Marshall of Wielkopolskie Province,  Marek Woźniak awarded the President of the Management Board  of Volkswagen Poznań Jens Ocksen, during the traditional New Year’s Meeting in the Hall of the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań.

The competition jury appreciated close contacts of Jens Ocksen with the region of Wielkopolska and his actions aimed at continuous improvement of the economic condition of the region. To the large extent, this is the effect of efforts of President Ocksen, that in October last year the new Volkswagen plant was opened near Września, where 3000 persons will be employed. The winner of this-year Award has created and developed modern models of cooperation between business, local societies, higher education institutions and non-profit organizations, basing on the principles of dialog and openness.  The competition jury also noticed the social activity and activity for the environment, among others, the support for schools neighboring on the Company plants, for orphanages or palliative care institutions.

“This is a great honor for me to receive this award, in particular, as the first foreigner in its history. I am convinced that nationality should play no role at all, as far as helping other people is concerned. Nowadays, in the times full of antagonisms, respect for another human being and good deeds are the highest values that we may have. I can assure you that I will not change the path I have chosen, since I am aware of my role and responsibility laid on me.” – says President Ocksen.

In the previous years the winners of the Award were, among others: Wanda Błeńska, M.D., Professor Anna Wolff - Powęska, Stefan Bratkowski, Solange and Krzysztof Olszewscy, Professor Andrzej Kwileck and Professor Maciej Kurpisz.

Jens Ocksen – Member of Management of the Brand Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles, President of the Management Board of Volkswagen Poznań, connected with VW for thirty years. In the years 2012-2014 he was the Board Member of the Brand Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles for Production and Logistics. He graduated from the Higher Vocational School in Hannover, from the faculty of Production Technology. He gained professional experience, among others, in production of Transporter T4 in Hannover, as well as during numerous projects and foreign contracts, among others in Taipei.